Galle and Colombo cruise to comfortable wins


Chamara Silva made an outstanding 61 as Colombo beat Kandy in an Inter-Provincial tournament match at R. Premadasa Stadium yesterday.

Colombo secured a comprehensive 92 run win over Kandy while Galle recorded a 15 run win on DL method in the Inter-Provincial matches worked off in Colombo yesterday. Colombo posted 309 for eight in their 50 overs batting first thanks to some healthy contributions from the top order.

Kamindu Mendis (47) and Shehan Jayasuriya (81) laid the platform for their match winning total sharing a 102 run stand for the first wicket.

Chamara Silva then batting at number three smashed 61 off 53 deliveries with five fours and two sixes and added 95 runs for the third wicket with Lahiru Thirimanne, who top scored with 90 runs.

Thirimanne’s unbeaten knock came off just 69 deliveries and contained nine sixes apart from three fours.

There was a collapse in the middle order, but the top order had done enough to give the side the advantage and the target of 310 proved to be too stiff for Kandy.

Only Danushka Gunathilaka managed a half-century in Kandy’s innings as leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga finished with four wickets. Kandy were bowled out for 217 with nine deliveries to spare.

Galle remained on top of the points table with a convincing 15 run win over Dambulla at P. Sara Oval.

Chasing a target of 288, Galle were 218 for three when bad light interrupted play, but at that stage they were ahead by 15 runs on DL method.

A lower order flourish with Sachithra Senanayake smashing 65 off 60 deliveries with three fours and four sixes enabled Dambulla to post 287 all out in 47 overs.

Captain Upul Tharanga steadied Galle’s run chase with 57 off 26 deliveries with seven fours and four sixes.

Shammu Ashan and Dasun Shanaka were involved in an unbroken 63 run stand for the fourth wicket to see their side through.

Brief Scores:

Colombo versus Kandy

Colombo 309 for eight in 50 overs (Kamindu Mendis 47, Shehan Jayasuriya 87, Chamara Silva 61, Lahiru Thirimanne 90*, Danushka Gunathilaka 2/39, Sachith Pathirana 3/41)

Kandy 217 all out in 48.3 overs (Danushka Gunathilaka 59, Chamara Kapugedera 44, Wanindu Hasaranga 4/43)

Dambulla versus Galle

Dambulla 287 all out in 47 overs

(Nishan Madushanka 44, Sachithra Senanayake 65, Dasun Shanka 3/63, Malinda Pushpakumara 3/27)

Galle 218 for three in 37.3 overs (Upul Tharanga 57, Shammu Ashan 48, Dasun Shanaka 38)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...