Ten out of 16 SLFP rebel MPs to join JO before July 03


By Anura Balasuriya and Lasitha Duminda

Ten out of 16 Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) MPs who voted for the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister, Ranil Wickremesinghe will join the Joint Opposition prior to the next parliamentary sitting on July 03.

Political sources said that those MPs would take part in the Parliamentary Group meeting of the JO next week.

These MPs are also attempting to get the other six MPs to join the Joint Opposition as well.

Meanwhile, the 16 MPs will hold a discussion with the National Freedom Front (NFF) today at the NFF Headquarters. MP Chandima Weerakkody told The Island that they would discuss with the NFF how to work with the Joint Opposition and how to ensure that former President Mahinda Rajapaksa became the next Prime Minister.

All 16 SLFP rebel MPs will attend this meeting while NFF leader Wimal Weerawansa and other politburo members will also take part.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...