Eight-member PSC appointed to probe Easter Sunday terror attacks



By Saman Indrajith 

An eight-member Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) for probing the Easter Sunday terror attacks was appointed yesterday.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya informed Parliament that Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri will act as the Chairman of the Committee.

The other members are Ministers Rauff Hakeem and Ravi Karunanayake, MPs Prof. Ashu Marasinghe, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Dr. Kavinda Jayawardana, President’s Counsel Dr. Jayamapathy Wickramaratne and M.A. Sumanthiran.

Parliament on May 22 passed the Resolution for establishing a PSC to probe the Easter Sunday terror attack which killed about 60 persons and injured more than 500 persons with an amendment.

The PSC has the power to conduct investigations on any Parliamentarian or Governor who has allegations linking them to the terror attack

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...