Pakistan Women Emerge T-20 Champions


by Roshen Steelman

The Pakistani women’s cricket team had a fine outing on a day marred by rain to win the Quadrangular T-20 Championship beating Netherlands by 13 runs on the DuckworthLewis Method at Colts Cricket Ground in Colombo yesterday.

The final was reduced to nine overs and Pakistan posted 53 runs after Javeria Khan, Bismah Maroof and Sana Mir scored 14 runs each and then restricted the Dutch to 41 runs in nine overs.

The T-20 Series was scheduled for later this month, but Saturday night Sri Lanka Cricket decided to conduct the event yesterday expecting inclement weather towards the latter part of the month.

However, just 59 overs were possible in the four match tournament with some games ending without a ball being bowled.

Sri Lanka did well to restrict Netherlands to 46 runs and were shaping well when they added 14 runs in one over, but rain forced players indoors and the winners had to be decided by the toss of a coin. Thus, Netherlands were the lucky ones to progress to the final.

"The Sri Lankans I thought were very unlucky due to rain. We are certainly proud of what we have achieved," Pakistan captain Siad Sana Mir told journalists after her side won the title.

T-20 Quadrangular Results


Pakistan beat Netherland by 13 runs on D/L Method at Colts CC

Pakistan 53 for 7 wkts in 9 overs (Javeria Khan 14, Bismah Maroof 14, Sana Mir 14; Evelien Gerrits 3/13)

Netherlands 41 for 1 wkt in 9 overs (Violet Wattenberg 13 n.o., Miranda Veringmeier 14; Sana Mir 1/04)

Consolation Final

Sri Lanka versus Ireland at SSC (Called off without a ball being bowled)

Sri Lanka versus Netherlands at SSC (No Result)

Netherlands 46 for 8 wkts in 13 overs (Miranda Veringmeier 09, Alarda Mol 09; Chamani Seneviratne 3/08, Siripali Weerakkody 2/11, Suwini de Alwis 2/05, Udeshika Probodhani 1/13)

Sri Lanka 14 for no wicket in an over

Pakistan beat Ireland by 15 runs according to (D/L) method

Ireland 75 for 7 wkts in 20 overs (Emiear Richardson 17, Laura Delany 17, Clare Shillington 12; Qanita Jalil 2/09, Sadia Yousuf 2/10)

Pakistan 37 for no wicket in 7.2 overs (Nida Dar 20 n.o., Javeria Khan 15 n.o.)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...