Court orders EC, ROs to accept 41 rejected PS nomination lists


By Chitra Weerathne

The Court of Appeal yesterday directed the Commissioner of Elections and the Returning officers for the Jaffna and Kilinochchi Districts, to accept the UPFA nomination papers to contest the Pradeshiya Sabha polls in those districts.

The Court allowing the application filed by the General Secretary of the UPFA, Susil Premajayantha, quashed the decision of the returning officers to reject the UPFA nominations for 19 Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Jaffna and Kilinochci Districts.

Writs Certiorari and Mandamus were granted against the Commissioner of Elections and the respective returning officers.

The Judgment was by Justices Sathya Hettige (President) and Upali Abeyratne.

D. S. Wijesinghe PC, Faiz Mustapha PC, Nihal Jayamanne PC, appeared for the petitioner, Susil Premajayantha.

Deputy Solicitor General Shavindra Fernando appeared with Deputy Solicitor General Sanjay Rajaratnam for the Commissioner of Elections.

Among the other Pradeshiya Sabhas, where the the election officers were ordered to accept the rejected UPFA nominations, were Akmeemana, Nawageththegama,

Akuressa Polgahawela, Galnawe, Balangoda, Moneragala, Rajangana, Yatimuwra, Hingurakgoda, Lindula Wennappuwa, Ambilipitiya, Chilaw, Polgahawela and Wilgamawa.

Altogether 35 UPFA applications were allowed. The Commissioner and his Returning Officers were directed to accept the rejected nominations.

The applications by the UNP against the rejections of UNP nomination paper to contest Elahera, Warakapola, Ambilipitiya and Baddegama Pradeshya Sabha, were allowed. The respective Returning officers were ordered to accept the nominations. A. S. M. Perera PC, appeared for the petitioners in respect of Warakapola and Elahera, Ronald Perera, appeared in respect of the petitions for Embilipitiya and Baddegama. The petitioner was Tissa Attanayake the General Secretary of the UNP.

The applications by an Independent Group against the decisions of the Returning Officer, to reject their nomination papers for the Pradeshya Sabhas of Seruwila and Akuressa were allowed. The elections officers were ordered to accept those nomination papers, too. Altogether a total of 60 petitions were filed in the Court of Appeal against the rejections. Some of the petitions were unsuccessful.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...