UPFA bags 21 out of 23 LG bodies

UNP wins coveted CMC


By Shamindra Ferdinando

The SLFP-led UPFA secured 21 out of 23 LG bodies at Saturday’s polls while the UNPwon the Colombo Municipal Council and the government ally, the SLMC, secured the Kalmunai MC, where the TNA came second.

The UPFA won the Anuradhapura MC, the Badulla MC, the Dehiwela-Mt. Lavinia MC, the Sri Jayewardenapura Kotte MC, the Moratuwa MC, the Kolonnawa UC, Kotikawatte-the Mulleriyawa Pradeshiya Sabha, the Galle MC, Negombo MC, Gampaha MC, the Hambantota MC, Sooriyawewa PS, the Hambantota PS, the Kandy MC, Kundasale PS, the Kandy Gravets and Gangawatta Korale PS, the Kurunegala MC, the Matale MC, the Matara MC, the Nuwara Eliya MC and the Ratnapura MC.

Saturday’s third phase of LG polls covered 23 LG bodies in 13 electoral districts but elections to two LG bodies in the Vanni East were postponed due to landmine clearing operation.

The UPFA secured 250 LG bodies in the first and second phases, TNA 30, UNP 09, SLMC 04,National Congress 02, TULF 02 and Up Country People’s Front (UPFA ally) 01. The JVP failed to secure a single LG body in all three phases.

Led by former WPC member A. J. M. Muzammil, the UNP obtained 101,920 (43.01%) votes to win the CMC. The UPFA polled 77,089 votes (32.53%), while the Democratic People’s Alliance, which received the support of the TNA secured 26,229 votes (11.07%). The SLMC, which contested on its own in spite of being invited by the UPFA to field candidates on the UPFA ticket, managed to obtain 9, 979 votes (4.21%).

Political sources said that an attempt by the UPFA to persuade some of Muzammil’s team to switch allegiance ahead of the Oct. 8 poll failed to materialise. Addressing the UPFA’s final media briefing at the Mahaweli Centre last Wednesday, MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardene claimed that several UNP candidates would join the UPFA.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...