Ceylinco Insurance appoints Gen. Srilal Weerasooriya as independent director


Ceylinco Life PLC has announced the appointment of former diplomat and retired four-star General Srilal Weerasooriya as an independent non-executive director of the company with effect from August 1.

General (Retd) C. S. Weerasooriya RWP, RSP, VSV, USP, was appointed Commander of the Sri Lanka Army on December 16, 1998 after an illustrious 35 year military career, and on retirement was appointed Sri Lanka’s High Commissioner to Pakistan, a position he held for six years.

Educated at St. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia, and a graduate of the Pakistan Military Academy, Kakul and the National Defence College of India, General Weerasooriya held many key positions in the Sri Lanka Army and was decorated for gallantry and service more than a dozen times in his military career.

As Sri Lanka’s High Commissio-ner to Pakistan and accredited Ambassador Extraordi-nary and Plenipotent-iary for Sri Lanka to Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, he played a lead role in improving political and trade relations between Sri Lanka and the region, and was Patron of the Pakistan Sri Lanka Friendship Association and of the Pakistan Sri Lanka Business Forum.

"General Weerasooriya’s four decades of experience in the military and the diplomatic corps will be a great source of strength and wisdom to the board of Ceylinco Life," the company’s Jt. Managing Director/CEO R. Renganathan said. "His proven managerial and administrative skills, integrity and acumen will be invaluable, as will his vast experience of working with people at all levels and in diverse settings."

General Weerasooriya is the second independent director appointed to the board of Ceylinco Insurance in the past one year.

Subsequent to the appointment of General Weerasooriya, the Board of Directors of Ceylinco Insurance PLC comprises of Messrs Godwin Perera (Chairman), Rajkumar Renganathan (Jt. MD/CEO), Ajith Gunawardena (Jt. MD/CEO) Thushara Ranasinghe (Deputy CEO), Devaan Cooray, Palitha Jayawardena, H. D. K. P. Alwis, W. C. J. Alwis, N. D. Nugawela, T. N. M. Peiris, D. W. P. Upali, P. M. B. Fernando, K. I. Dharmawardena, Herschell Gunawardena and Gen. (Retd) Srilal Weerasooriya.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...