CPC to open 37 filling stations

by Dasun Edirisinghe

Ceylon Petroleum Corporation plans to open 37 new filling stations in eight provinces within the first half of 2012, according to Ministry of Petroleum Industries.

Minister Susil Premajayantha told The Island that 20 filling stations would be opened in the Northern and Eastern Provinces under the Uthuru Wasanthaya programme.

He said that he had directed the CPC to open these sheds as soon as possible especially to cater to the mega development projects in the war affected area.

"There wasn’t sufficient fuel supply to the Northern province as there were no filling stations operated there when it was under the LTTE," Premajayantha said adding that the new fuel stations would be opened by May 2012.

He said that the government had already opened 33 new fuel stations, covering all five districts in the Northern Province, after the war ended.

According to the minister 17 diesel and kerosene stores would be developed into new fuel stations in six other provinces.

He said that they would develop three, five and six diesel and kerosene stores in the Eastern, North Western and Southern province respectively and three in Central, Uva and North Central provinces as new filling stations.

"About 30 owners of diesel and kerosene stores requested the ministry to give them fuel station status," Premajayantha said adding of them 17 selected dealers would receive new filling station status.

He said that these 17 fuel stations would be opened by the end of February and they would function under the CPC.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...