St. Anthony’s beat Trinity in exciting match

32nd Trinity-Antonian Limited-over encounter


by Rukshan Razak

It was a topsy-turvy situation when the underdogs St. Anthony’s College, who lost their ‘big match’ by an innings and one run only last week, went on to turn tables as they beat Trinity College by ten runs and thus regained the Sir Richard Aluvihare challenge trophy at the end an absorbing limited-over cricket encounter at Katugastota yesterday.

This win enabled the ‘Eagles’ to increase their wins tally to 15 against 14 by the ‘Lions’ while three encounters, played in 1993, 2003 and 2008, ending in no-decision due to rain. The encounter in 2000 was not played.

The result of this game resembles the result in year 1992 when the Antonians, led by Umesh de Alwis, having won the big match at Katugastota went on to lose in their one-day game against Kelum Edirisinghe - led Trinity at Asgiriya.  

In reply to a total of 182 by the Antonians which looked a moderate target for Trinity, who were blessed with one of the strongest batting line-ups in school cricket, took to the field with confidence. Their openers got off to a flying start maintaining a steady run-rate amid overcast conditions at Katugastota fearing the weather may spoil their chances. But little they knew that weather would play the trick when their openers, skipper Niroshan Dikwella (35 off 19 balls) and deputy skipper Janishka Premasinghe (15 off 19) were back in the pavilion after a 36-run partnership. Thereafter the Antonians, who expected rain as a blessing earlier, thought it was a spoiler later on, and now amid clear skies they had fresh hopes when the Trinity batting line-up collapsed quickly amid menacing a spin attack by Sachin Bulthsinghala who captured four for 38 with Nimesh Gunasinghe taking four for 33. Thus none of the Trinity batsmen could reach double figures except middle-order bat Rajitha Jayathunga who was engaged in a lone battle until he gave a catch to Dinuk Herath at deep mid-on, off the bowling of off-spinner Romesh Macwin at 53.

Earlier the Antonians who were 28 for four at one point recovered well thanks to a fifth wicket stand of 84 runs between skipper Kanishka Ranaraja (72 in 91 balls with 7 fours) and Saranga Rajaguru (25 n.o.) before they were all out for 182 in 47.5 overs in a game that got off to a delayed start due to overnight showers and wet ground conditions thus reducing the game to a 48-over affair.


Best fielder: Nimesh Gunasinghe (St. Anthony’s College, Katugastota=SACK), Best bowler: Sachin Bulathsinghala (SACK), Best batsman: Rajitha Jayathunga (Trinity College, Kandy=TCK), and Man of the match: Kanishka Ranaraja (SACK).

The Chief Guest: Skipper of St. Anthony’s College cricket team of 1984, Angelo Wickramasooriya, the Guest of honour: Famous Antonian cricketer Piyal Wijethunga, the Principals of Trinity College, Brig. Udaya Ariyaratne and St. Anthony’s, Rev. Fr. Titus Rodrigo gave away the awards.


St. Anthony’s 182 all out in 47.5 overs (Kanishka Ranaraja 72, Saranga Rajaguru 25, Viraj Deepal 17, Romesh Macwin 14; Amrith Srimahan 3 for 21, Lakshan Jayasinghe 2 for 22, Akila Jaysundara 3 for 21)

Trinity 172 in 38.3 overs (Niroshan Dikwella 31, Janishka Premasinghe 15, Heshan Wanniarachchi 10, Rajitha Jayatunga 53, Akila Jayasundara 21, Sachin Bulathsinghala 4 for 38, Nimesh Gunasghe 4 for 33).


St. Anthony’s skipper Kanishka Ranaraja (3-L) celebrates the victory with his team-mates after accepting the Sir Richard Aluvihare trophy from St. Anthony’s College Principal, Rev. Fr. Titus Rodrigo (not in picture). (Pic courtesy RR)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...