Trinity College past teachers get together

The inaugural gathering and a thanksgiving service of the Past Teachers’ Association of Trinity College Kandy (PTA of TCK) will be held toady in the Trinity College Chapel under the patronage of its President Lt. Col. Leonard de Alwis, a former Principal of the school.

Trinity College that was founded in the hill capital of Sri Lanka in 1872 with four staff members rose to 21 teachers in 1900. With the growing number of student population in the school the strength of the staff too increased gradually and by 1945 the school was equipped with forty teachers.

By the seventieth decade the number of teachers rose further and in 1972 the number turned to 100 when Trinity celebrated 100 years in existence. Toady almost 250 teachers serve on the staff with an equal number of past teachers continuing to maintain their loyalty and links with the old school.

Surprisingly over this long spell for some reason or other all concerned had failed to institute an official organization for its teachers despite a number of felicitation programmes organized by different batches of old boys from time to time, over the years. This long due association finally became a reality on the 25th February 2012 bringing a dream into reality with a three member organizing committee got down over 30 past teachers to the college hall and the subsequent election of office bearers was followed by a fellowship lunch at the school dining hall.

The Patron of the association is the Principal of Trinity College, Kandy whiles the former Principal and old boy Lt. Col. L. M de Alwis was elected as the founder President of the association.

Old boy and former Headmaster of Trinity College L. A. Navaratne serves as the Secretary.

The following were elected as Vice Presidents. P. E. Jeyaraj (former Vice Principal), S. Ariyasingham (former Prefect of Games), O. J. R. Fonseka (former Headmaster), Lt. Col. A. Mudannayake (former Headmaster)

Meanwhile, K. P. S. Chandrasiri (former Prefect of Games) was elected the Treasurer and the following members form the Executive Committee, namely, R. R. Herathge, F. J. Wickramage, W. B. Alahakoon, P. Jayatunge, D. Gamalath with A. B. Jayasinghe serving as the auditor.

Today’s thanksgiving service will be followed by a fellowship lunch and the PTA of TCK whilst thanking all stakeholders of the school, with special thanks to the past students all over the globe for their continuous support, invites all well wishes to be part of the service at the chapel. For further information please contact the Secretary on 071-6110017 or Treasurer on 077-8962816 or write to

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...