All 74 tsunami warning  towers functioning

By Maheesha Mudugamuwa

The Disaster Management Ministry stated that all 74 tsunami early warning towers, set up in the country, including the 10 towers which had not functioned due to a technical failure, when a tsunami alert was issued on April 11, following the massive 8.6 magnitude earthquake near Banda Aceh in Indonesia, were now functioning well.

According to the media reports 10 tsunami towers have not functioned and five of them had been on a test stage. The towers that are on test stage are the ones in Sisilagama in Hambantota, Thalalla South School in Matara, Porathota Kochchikade in Gampaha, Sri Vijayarama Temple in Galle and Thalaimannar.

The Ministry has introduced new regulations to maintain the tsunami early warning towers. According to new regulations, officials of Provincial Disaster Management Centres (DMC) will have to thoroughly check all 74 towers every Thursday, ministry spokesman Sarath Lal Kumara told The Island.

According to the Ministry, Towers have been installed in coastal areas including Colombo, Modara, Beruwala, Moratuwa, Lunawa, Kalutara and Galle to provide information to the public on tsunamis.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...