All seven SL athletes to attend Olympic Opening Ceremony

Despite tough schedule the following day

by Reemus Fernando

Despite having a tough schedule the following day, all seven Sri Lankan athletes were schedule to attend Friday’s Opening Ceremony of the London Olympics 2012.

The Sri Lankan officials in London confirmed that all seven athletes including shuttlers Niluka Karunaratne and Thilini Jayasinghe would take part in the parade where Karunaratne will be the flag bearer.

The shuttlers are scheduled to compete against top ranked badminton players on Saturday.

According to sources in London, six officials will accompany the seven Sri Lankan athletes. A source said that Ranjani Jayakody, the Director of Sports, who is attending the Games as an observer, too is likely to attend the parade.

Track and field athletes Indrajith Cooray and Christine Merrill, swimmers Shehan Unamboowe and Reshika Udugampola, shuttlers Niluka Karunaratne and Thilini Jayasinghe and shooter Mangala Samarakoon, officials; Deva Henry, the Chef de Mission, Shemal Fernando, the Manager of the shooter and the track and field athletes, Rohan de Silva, the manager of badminton players, Samantha Wickramasinghe, the manager of the swimmers, Nishantha Piyasena, NOC representative and Ranjani Jayakody are scheduled to take part in the opening ceremony.

Opening ceremony is scheduled to start at 9 pm London time.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...