All Island 10-a-Side U-18 Schools Rugby (Div. I)

St. Peter’s bag Milo Trophy


Text and pix

by M. Farook Lantra

Last year’s champions, St. Peter’s College, Colombo, clinched the Milo Trophy after a superb performance in a nail biting match where they beat Science College by 7 points (1 goal) to 5 (1 try) in the All Island 10-a-Side, Under-18 Rugby Tournament worked off at the Royal College Sports Complex, on August 5.

There was no scoring during the first half.

The first to score after lemons was Science College. In the 5th minute forward Isuru Viraj planted a try which was not converted. But it lasted only five minutes, as the speedy wing three quarter of St. Peter’s, S. Dereckz covered 75 metres, passing several defenders to plant the try under the post to give the Peterites 7 points.

More than 350 participants from 24 schools took part in the tournament, which was sponsored by Nestle Lanka PLC and organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA.

The chief guest was Mohamed Ali, Brand Manager, Nestle Lanka PLC.

Results: The Plate was won by Kingswood College, Kandy, who beat Wesley College, Colombo, 20-0.

Bowl – Won by C. W. W. Kannangara College, who beat D. S. Senanayake College 15-5. Shield - Won by Mahanama College, Colombo, who beat Lumbini College 20-0.

Referee: Pradeep Fernando.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...