SLFP CC to discuss key issues causing divisions within UPFA

By Franklin R. Satyapalan

The Central Committee (CC) of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP ) is scheduled to discuss some of the crucial issues of national importance which had led to divisions amongst Cabinet Ministers of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), government sources said yesterday

The SLFP CC on November 15 will be followed by a meeting of the Samasta Lanka Karaka Sabhawa of the SLFP, the sources said.

Some of the controversial issues are the call for the abolition of the 13th Amendment, Impeachment motion against the CJ, implementation of the Divineguma legislation, introduction of the Gam Sabha or Panchyat System and the appointment of a Delimitation Committee for demarcation of local boundaries , the sources said.

Furthermore, outstanding issues as implementing the LLRC recommendations and the necessity of holding of elections to nine Local bodies in the Batticaloa district, two in the Mullaitivu district and the Northern Provincial Council and recommencing talks with the TNA to bring them to the Parliamentary Select Committee on resolving the national question are on the agenda, they said.

The 65 or so CC members are to deliberate over these outstanding issues and map out a strategy to tackle these problems which have created much controversy for the government in the recent past, locally and internationally ,the senior party sources said.

Administrative Secretary of the SLFP, S. H .Ariyasena confirmed that President Mahinda Rajapaksa, as the Leader of the SLFP the main Party in the UPFA will preside at the meeting scheduled to be held at Temple Trees.

The President had understood that it is high time the government took a firm stand on many of these crucial matters to move progressively forward with the support of the masses towards the next Presidential Election in 2017, the sources said.

SLFP General Secretary Minister Maithripala Sirisena, UPFA General Secretary Minister Susil Premajayanth, SLFP Treasurer Minister Dulles Alahapperuma, Senior SLFP Vice Presidents Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, Governor Alavi Mowlana,Vice Presidents Ministers Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, W. D .J. Seneviratne and Deputy Minister Vinayagamoorthy Muralidharan are billed to participate

The CC of the SLFP the Samastha Lanka Karaka Sabha comprising over 1,260 members comprising SLFP organizers, parliamentarians, provincial councilors, chairmen of Local bodies and representatives of the Maha Sangha, labor, youth, women’s organizations, farmers and fishermen are scheduled to meet at 7 pm the same day.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...