UNP finally meets to decide 2nd tier leaders


By Lal Gunesekera

The much delayed United National Party Working Committee meeting to pick its second tier leaders for 2013 will go ahead today at the party headquarters, Siri Kotha from 4.00 p.m.

A source close to the party hierarchy told The Island yesterday (20) that UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe would propose the names to the three posts, Deputy Leader, Assistant leader and National Organiser, to the Working Committee.

He said that Wickremesinghe was likely to nominate the names of incumbents in those posts, Sajith Premadasa, Joseph Michael Perera and Daya Gamage, but if a third of the Working Committee members were not agreeable it might end up in a vote.

Meanwhile, the ultimatum given for responding the the show cause letters sent to 15 UNP parliamentarians, including seven from the Sri Lankan Muslim Congress (SLMC), who defied a party decision and voted with the government to impeach Chief Justice Dr. Shirani Bandaranayake has been extended till Wednesday (23).

The seven SLMC MPs were elected on the UNP ticket at the 2010 General Election. SLMC’s Hassan Ali and Citizen’s Front’s Sri Ranga however voted against the impeachment.

The same source said if those 15 dissident parliamentarians fail to respond, they would be expelled from the UNP, in which situation they would lose their seats.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...