Eleven rail stations to be renovated

By Lal Gunesekera

Eleven railway stations in the Gampaha district will be renovated to provide a better service to the commuters, including tourists.

This project together with others in the Gampaha District were discussed by Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa last week with the Government Agent and other senior officials of the district.

No inconvenience will be caused to disabled persons, clergy and tourists with rest rooms, platforms, stairways, ticket counter etc modernized.

Among the stations that are to be renovated in the Gampaha district are Ragama, Ja-Ela, Seeduwa, Katunayake, Negombo, Ganemulla, Gampaha, Bemmulla, Veyangoda and Ambepussa.

Among the others who were present at this discussion were Chief Minister of the Western Province Prasanna Ranatunga, Transport Minister Kumara Welgama, Deputy Ministers Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Pandu Bandaranayake and Sarana Gunawardene, Parliamentarians Dr. (Drs.) Sudarshini Fernandopulle and Ruwan Ranatunga and Western Provincial Council Minister Nimal Lansa.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...