SL’s Junior Fed Cup tennis team flourish in Malaysia


by Revata S. Silva

Sri Lanka’s Kavindya de Silva, on left, and Thewni Dewaraja playing in Doubles on Thursday at Junior Fed Cup tennis competition in Malaysia. Sri Lanka’s three-member team, also featuring Nethmi Waduge, got through to the next round out of six participating nations in the tournament. (Pic courtesy Dr. Wee Thian Yew/ITF)

Sri Lanka’s unblemished record earned them qualification for next round at the ongoing Junior Fed Cup Asia-Oceania Zone Pre Qualifying Round, now being held in Kuching, Malaysia.

Sri Lanka thus qualified on Thursday, March 21, for the next round of this International Tennis Federation (ITF) annual global team competition for under-16 girls players.

The Lankan lasses are now eligible to play in the Junior Fed Cup Final Qualifiers, to be staged in Gimcheon, Korea from April 22-27 with a view to entering the 2013 Junior Fed Cup Finals in San Luis Potosi, Mexico.

Junior Fed Cup, sponsored by BNP Paribas, was launched by the ITF in 1985 as World Youth Cup under the sponsorship of NEC. USA is the current world champions of the Junior Fed Cup.

The six (6) participating countries in this year’s Asia-Oceania Zone Pre Qualifiers in Malaysia are: Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Nethmi Waduge, Kavindya de Silva and Thewni Dewaraja are representing Sri Lanka under Non-playing Captain Sasith Wickremasinghe.

The annual Junior Fed Cup and Junior Davis Cup, according to the ITF, have been designed to give young tennis players the opportunity to experience international competition and the unique atmosphere of playing in a team for their country.

Sri Lanka, now placed second behind Kazakhstan, battered Iran 3-0, Jordan 3-0, Kyrgyzstan 2-1 and Pakistan 3-0. Their tie against Kazakhstan, scheduled for Friday March 22, will only decide the first place winner out of the six participating nations.

Early this week, Sri Lanka girls’ under-14 team, taking part in the ITF World Junior Pre Qualifying competition at the same venue in Kuching, qualified out of four nations, for the Final Qualifiers, to be held also in Malaysia from April 15-20. The team comprised Medira Samarasinghe, Rukshika Wijesuriya and Serena Madanayake who played under Non-playing Captain Sankha Atukorale

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...