Sri Rahula vs Ranabima Royal third ‘Big Match’ on May 8 and 9

by Our Special Corr. in Kandy

The Third ‘Big Match’ between Sri Rahula College, Katugastota, and Ranabima Royal College, Peradeniya, will be played at the Asgiriya International Stadium on May 8 and 9.

In the inaugural match played at Katugastota in 2011, Sri Rahula registered an outright win by eight wickets.

Last year’s game at the Pallekele Stadium was drawn, with Sri Rahula taking a first innings lead.

Sri Rahula will be led by third year all rounder Supun Asela, who opens the batting, bowls off spin and fields well anywhere. Last year’s skipper, Rajitha Ranatunga is the leading all rounder. Ishara Hewage, who scored a century in the first ‘Big Match’, is the side’s leading run scorer. He entered the nineties thrice this season.

The pace attack is Sri Rahula’s forte, with Lakshan Sameera, who is quite quick, leading the pack.

Not much is known about the Ranabima Royal side and they have not named their team yet.

Weather permitting, an interesting game is on the cards.

Sri Rahula (from): Supun Asela (Capt), Ishara Tennekoon (V. Capt), Ishara Hewage, Rajitha Ranatunga, Mokshana Bandara, Tharaka Ranaweera, Ashan Maduranga, Sameera Lakshan, Buddika Randeniya, Nuwan Joseph, Sandaruwan Abeysinghe, Ayesh Rukshan, Iranga Bandaranaike, Milan Dissanaike, Jeevantha Madusanka and Nadeshan Dunumadalawa.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...