SLFP CC decides to hold 3 PC polls on same day


The Central Committee of the SLFP last night decided that elections for Northern, Central and North-Western Provinces would be held on the same day.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa presided over the meeting.

SLFP sources told The Island that the CC also decided to appoint three committees, comprising three ministers each, to spearhead the campaign.

Sources said that UPFA General Secretary Susil Premjayanth, Leader of the House Nimal Siripala de Silva and SLFP General Secretary Maithripala Sirisena would lead the Northern, Central and North Western provinces, respectively.

In the wake of strong opposition by left allies of the SLFP-led ruling coalition, the CC decided to appoint a committee comprising ministers, Susil Premjayanth, Basil Rajapaksa, Dallas Alahapperuma, W. D. J. Seneviratne, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa and Athauda Seneviratne to explore ways and means of ironing out their differences.

Sources said that the CC also decided to take up proposed amendments to the 13th Amendment to the Constitution with all Provincial Councils. (FRS)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...