PMG denies plans to shut down sub post offices


By Ifham Nizam

 The Department of Posts would under no circumstance close down post offices or sub post offices (SPOs), a top official said.

Postmaster General D. L. P. Rohana Abeyratne told The Island that apart from two post offices being upgraded and one sub post office downgraded, there were no plans to close down any other sub post offices.

He also accused some unions of resorting to a malicious campaign to tarnish the image of the 235-year-old public sector department.

The Lanka Postal Services Union alleges that plans are underway to close down 200 sub post offices and make them Agency post offices.

Currently, the Department has some 4,712 post offices, which includes 636 post offices, 3,407 sub-post offices, 448 agency post offices, 156 rural agency post offices and 65 Estate Agency Post Offices.

Sri Lanka Post was established by the Dutch rulers, way back in 1798, in the Maritime Provinces of the country with five offices. Today it has a workforce of nearly 20,000.

Sri Lanka Post serves a population of nearly 22 million inhabitants here. During the existence of Sri Lanka Post, though known by various names, it continued to serve the populace with dedication.

According to recent estimates there is a Post Office for every 2,400 inhabitants of this country. This in real terms means that there was post office for every 14 km radius.

Today, a majority of the post offices are equipped with state of the art equipment to provide an efficient service to the customers.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...