TNA to give bonus seat to its defeated Muslim candidate

The Tamil National Alliance (TNA) has decided to grant one of its two bonus seats to Mannar District defeated Muslim candidate Ayub Nasmeen.

TNA sources told The Island yesterday that the other bonus seat would be given to the defeated candidate with highest preferential votes in the five districts of the province to serve for a period of one year each. 

The party has not yet decided on its nominees for the Provincial Ministers posts. However, there were requests from the TNA constituents for ministerial portfolios.

A provincial council could appoint five ministers including the Chief Minister. 

The TNA consists of five Tamil political parties and they are ITAK, PLOTE, TELO, TULF and EPRLF. Fifteen members from ITAK, five from TELO, five from EPRLF, two from PLOTE and one from TULF were elected to the Northern Provincial Council under the TNA banner in the Saturday’s election.

 TNA sources said that their newly elected 28 members to the council had met on Monday at the party head office on Martin Road Jaffna and unanimously endorsed the appointment of C. V. Vigneswaran as Chief Minister.

 TNA General Secretary Mavai Senathiraja handed over the name of Vigneswaran as the Chief Minister to Northern Governor Maj. Gen. (Retd.) G. A. Chandrasiri on Tuesday.

Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya said that he would gazette the names of the new councilors once the TNA and UPFA named their nominees for the bonus seats in the three provinces.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...