Six outstation tennis tournaments fixed for 2014

by Revata S. Silva

The year 2014 will witness six outstation tennis tournaments, the Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) announced last week.

The said tournaments will be held in the following outstation cities: Bandarawela, Kandy, Kurunegala, Matale, Negombo and Nuwara Eliya.

Out of those six tourneys, three, to be held in Negombo, Nuwara Eliya and Bandarawela, will be open ranking events. Other than the one scheduled for Nuwara Eliya, the rest will include events for Tennis 10s participants (for Under-10 age group).

It is also notable that all these tournaments are traditionally fixed events in the usual SLTA yearly programme calendar for the last ten years or so.

There will be around 14 tennis tournaments, both junior and open, scheduled to be held in Colombo alone this year.

The following will be the schedule of the outstation tennis tournaments slated for the year 2014, as stipulated in the SLTA annual tournament calendar:

1. Negombo Tennis Club in Negombo - ‘C’ Grade – From March 1-9 – Events held in Open, Junior and Tennis 10s categories.

2. Hill Club in Nuwara Eliya – B - April 12-16 – Open and Junior

3. Bandarawela Tennis Club in Bandarawela - B - April 15-21 – Open, Junior and Tennis 10s

4. Matale Tennis Club in Matale – C - Sep. 13-21 - Junior and Tennis 10s

5. Kandy Tennis Club in Kandy – C - Nov. 8-16 - Junior and Tennis 10s

6. Janaka Bogollagama Memorial Tennis at Kurunegala Tennis Club in Kurunegala – B - Dec. 13-21 - Junior and Tennis 10s.


animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...