New regulations on flavouring substances from July 01

By Dilanthi Jayamanne 

Importers of flavouring substances and flavouring enhancers will soon have to obtain a certificate from relevant authorities in the country of origin that their products are safe for human consumption.

The spokesman for the Health Ministry warned that legal action would be taken against those who imported, used for manufacturing, stored, transported or retailed such substances  without such documentation from the country of origin under Section 26 of the 1980 Food Act. He said that the decision had been taken following a discussion held between the Food Advisory Committee and Health Minister Maithripala Sirisena.

The new regulations will come into effect from July 01 this year.

The Ministry had permitted the use of Diacetin, Diethyl Ether, Ethyl acetate, ethyl alcohol, Glycerol, Isopropyl alcohol, Propylene glycol, Triacetin and water. He said that only Monosodium glutamate, Disodium 5 Glutamate and Disodium 5’-Inosinat could be used for enhancing flavour.

The Health Ministry had taken steps to ban the use of over fifteen substances used for flavouring and enhancing the food flavour such as Aloin, Berberine, beta Asarone, Cinnamyl anthranilate, Cade oil, Calamus oil, Cocaine, Coumarin, Diethylene glycol, Monoethyl ether, Estragole, Eugenyl methyl ether, Hypericin, Tonka Bean, Thujone, Isothujone  and Nitrobenzene.

 The Health Ministry spokesman said the ministry had also banned the use of flavouring substances and flavour enhancing substances in milk and milk products, ice cream, refrigerated desserts, margarine and fat spreads, oil, peeled/cut/shredded fruits, vegetables, mushroom products, condiments and spices, fruit wine, fruit powder, instant fruit or vegetable chutney mixes, segu pasta and noodles, malted food products, bakery products, beef, mutton and game, fish and other sea foods as well as several other food items.  

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...