Leadership council split 3-3 on giving nomination to Maithri, Shiral


 By Lal Gunesekera

Three members of the UNP Leadership Council (LC) are totally opposed to nominating Maithri Gunaratne (Southern PC) and Shiral Lakthilaka (Western PC) to contest the Southern and Western Provincial Council polls in March.

Sources close to the LC told The Island yesterday (27) that Colombo District Parliamentarian Ravi Karunanyake, Party’s General Secretary Tissa Attanayake and even National Leader Ranil Wickremasinghe were against nominating Gunaratne and Lakthilaka.

The issue was discussed at last week’s LC meeting with the Chairman of the LC Karu Jayasuriya, UNP Chairman Kabir Hashim (Kegalle District MP) and Lakshman Kiriella (Kandy District MP) calling for nominating the duo.

Fourteen UNP MPs have written to Jayasuriya requesting him to nominate both Gunaratne and Lakthilaka.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...