RMOs win SC case to follow MBBS degree

By Chitra Weerarathne

The Attorney General yesterday informed the Supreme Court that the MBBS course for the petitioner Registered Medical Officers, would commence on March 10, 2014 and would go on till September 2016. Repeat exams and repeat lectures would be held. The persons who qualify would not have to sit the Act 16 examination, held for medical graduates who qualified overseas. The venue would be the Institute of Graduate Studies, Colombo.

The Deputy Solicitor General, Indika Demuni de Silva appeared for the Attorney General.

Professor Malkanthi Chandrasekera, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Peradeniya University informed the Supreme Court that the University Grants Commission had suggested a Management Committee be appointed to manage the course proceedings.

The Supreme Court approved the proposal.

The Management Committee will comprise Professor Malkanthi Chandrasekera (Chairperson), Professor Lilanthi de Silva (Representative of the Sri Lanka Medical Council), Dr. Sunil de Alwis (Representative of the Ministry of Health) and the Deans of the Faculties of Medicine of Seven Universities.

Along with the settlement, the proceedings of the fundamental rights violation application, filed by a group of RMOs complaining that they had to go through long years to train for MBBS, was terminated.

They said that they as RMOs had worked in hospitals for a long time. The settlement term reduced the course duration to two years and eight months.

Yesterday, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine Kelaniya   Prof. Lilanthi de Silva, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine Peradeniya Professor Malkanthi Chandrasekera, and President of the Government Medical Officers’ Association Dr. Anuruddha Padeniya were present in Court, to assist in the settlement.

Romesh de Silva P.C. appeared with Sugath Caldera for the petitioners.

Shibly Aziz P.C. appeared for the Government Medical Officers Association.

S. Parathalingam P.C. appeared for the S.L. Medical Council. Out of the 61 petitioners, who had petitioned the court, only 33 will follow the course. The others had opted to retire from service as RMOs.

The course will be conducted only for the persons who petitioned the court.

The bench comprised Chief Justice Mohan Pieris, Justice K. Sripavan and Justice Rohini Marasinghe.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...