Central Bank Governor Indrajit Coomaraswamy yesterday arriving to give evidence at the Commission of Inquiry probing alleged CB bond scams sitting in the Supreme Court Complex.

Pic Jude Denzil Pathiraja

EPF prevented from

buying bonds in

secondary market

The Presidential Commission of Inquiry was told yesterday that the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) has been stopped from buying Central Bank bonds in the secondary market.

Restrictions have been placed on the EPF in the wake of Dr Indrajith Coomaraswamy replacing Central Bank Governor Arjuna Mahendran in mid last year.

Coomaraswamy explained that there had been transactions involving the EPF and primary dealers.

President Maithripala Sirisena appointed the Commission of Inquiry due to delay on the part of the law enforcement agencies getting to the bottom of the alleged fraud. The Commission of Inquiry comprises judges of the Supreme Court K.T. Chithrasiri, P.S. Jayawardena and Rtd. Deputy Auditor General K. Velupillai



JVP protests sacking of Lanka Mineral Sands Chairman


Removal of Asoka Peiris from the post of chairman of Lanka Mineral Sands indicated that the Yahapalana government does not need honest and competent public officials with a backbone but those who toe their line and help perpetuate corruption, the JVP s...

DLB considering online lottery for Millennials


Development Lotteries Board (DLB) Chairman Romesh Jayawardana says that the DLB is exploring ways to launch an online lottery which will appeal to the new Millennials or Generation Y who are not too keen on purchasing paper-based traditional lotteri...

Is Sri Lanka Heading Towards Child Labour Free Status?


Not all children’s work is bad. Many children work. They do household chores around the house, help in shops or farms. Such work can help children learn new skills, develop responsibility, manage their resources, and gain experience which might b...

Dickwella suspended for two matches


Sri Lankan opener Niroshan Dickwella has been suspended for two limited-over matches after his accumulated demerit points reached five within a 24-month period following his latest breach of the ICC Code of Conduct for which he received a 30 per cen...

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...